The Barony of oyfenragh

Moyfenragh in Co Meath is on the border of County Meath and County Kildare almost directly east of the town of Sligo in County Sligo. County Meath's eastern border touches the Irish Sea with County Cavan on its western border. It is one of 12 Baronies in County Meath and one of 331 Baronies in Ireland. As noted, the Barony of Moyfenragh is in Leinster Providence, the Territory of Spears.

The MacTernan's in this area were Chiefs of Teallach Dunchada, the tribe or territory of Donogh. As yet, there is no connection between the McTernan family from Sheskin, Co Leitrim and the one from Moyfenragh in Co Meath.

The Barony comprises about 40,000 acres with Trim being the most well known town within its boarders. The Boyne River runs through the Barony.

Four parishes are included within its boundaries, Rathcore, Rathmolyon, Laracor and Trim. It is in the Civil Diocese of Meath, the 1871 Probate District of Dublin and in the Poor Law Union of Trim, in Co Meath.

William Neugent, the 13th Earl of Westmeath was the Baron of Moyfenragh as of September 1996.  In 1997 the title passed to John Turner

Michael McTiernan

N40 03' 09.4"
W75 24' 14.1"

Last updated  1-5-08

Return to the beginning